About Us

The Hondo National Bank originated in 1901 with the chartering of the First National Bank of Hondo, which was located on Avenue M. The Hondo State Bank opened in 1906 at the same location. In 1936 the two banks merged into a new chartered bank called The Hondo National Bank with total capital of $60,000. On November 31, 1950, the bank moved to its new quarters on 18th Street. The bank has operated continuously since the inception of the two banks in the early 1900’s and weathered the "Great Depression," as well as the "Banking Crisis of the 1980s."

A single office operated in Hondo until branch banking was permitted in Texas. In 1998 the bank’s Bandera Branch was established, in 2003 the Uvalde Branch was opened, and in 2006 the Leakey Branch was opened. The bank most recently opened a branch in Blanco, Texas in 2018. Significant growth has been experienced during the last few years due to a concerted marketing effort and the influx of people into the area north and west of San Antonio. The bank has more than tripled its size during the last ten years.

Automatic Teller Machines are located in Hondo, Bandera, Uvalde, and Leakey.

Our Mission Statement:

It is our desire to grow while profitably providing superior financial services to our customers. We will accomplish this by offering "one-on-one" customer service in a friendly atmosphere, developing community ties, and ensuring the highest efficiencies, integrity, and honesty while maintaining security and confidentiality.


James E Barden

Tim Gilles

Joe E Hargrove

Reagan Houston, IV

David McGuffin

Mike Miller

Robert Peden

Fred Yanta

Justin Speer



Tim Gilles, President, CEO

Olen Thompson, Executive Vice President, CFO/CCO/HR/Secretary to the Board

Kaye Langford, Senior Vice President, COO/CRA Officer/Cashier

Glenn Bradley, Senior Vice President, Leakey Regional President

Stormy Pruitt, Senior Vice President, Blanco Regional President

Bobby Ainsley, Senior Vice President, Hondo Regional President

Roy Angermiller, Senior Vice President, Uvalde Regional President

Kathleen Montague, Senior Vice President, Bandera Regional President

Oscar Contreras, Vice President, Compliance/BSA/Security Officer

Matt Crickard, Vice President, Information Technology/Information Security Officer

Annette Vordenbaum, Vice President, Financial Analyst

Lott Whitwell, Vice President, Uvalde Banking Center Branch Manager

John Chapman, Vice President, Loan Officer Hondo Banking Center

Mary Rodriguez, Vice President, Loan Officer Uvalde Banking Center

Linda Elledge, Vice President, Operations Officer Uvalde Banking Center

Joseph Flores, Vice President, Loan Officer Uvalde Banking Center

Tiffanie Crickard, Assistant Vice President, Loan Administration Officer

Melissa Seymour, Assistant Vice President, Operations Officer Blanco Banking Center

Leslie Monette, Assistant Vice President, Loan Officer Hondo Banking Center

Julie Conrad, Assistant Vice President, Bandera Banking Center Branch Manager

Nick Lovelace, Security Officer

Crystal Mora, Assistant Cashier, Operations Officer Hondo Banking Center

Brenda Gonzalez, Assistant Cashier, Operations Officer Leakey Banking Center